Expand Your Education with These Courses from
Becoming a Successful Sales Professional: Skills for Sales Success: Part One.
The Psychology of Consultative Selling: Skills for Sales Success: Part Four.
Customer Relationship Building: Skills for Sales Success: Part Seven.
Expand your education through NAR's REALTOR® University: A Consumer Advocate Approach to Mortgages: Course 2.
Bundle 1: CIPS Core Courses (Non-US Version).

HUD Announces Alternative Accessibility Standard for Federally Funded Construction Projects

Have a comment on this article? Share on Facebook!

The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) announced recently that it is permitting developers of federally funded construction projects to use an alternative design standard to meet the accessibility requirements under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.  With a few exceptions, developers may use the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) 2010 Standards (2010 Standards) for accessible design as an alternative to the Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards (UFAS) when undertaking new construction or alterations to existing structures on or after May 23, 2014.

Section 504 requires that programs or activities receiving federal financial assistance be readily accessible to persons with disabilities, including construction projects.  Many of the projects that are subject to HUD’s Section 504 regulation and UFAS, however, are also subject to ADA requirements for state and local governments. When both accessibility standards apply, it was previously necessary for recipients to determine on a section-by-section basis which afforded greater accessibility and meet that.

With issuance of the notice, HUD permits fund recipients to use the 2010 Standards, except for specific provisions identified in the notice, as an alternative to UFAS until HUD formally revises its Section 504 regulation.  HUD is excepting some provisions of the 2010 Standards because those provisions provide a lower level of accessibility than is currently required under UFAS and HUD’s Section 504 regulation.

“This action allows HUD-funded entities the option to design and build using a single accessibility standard, with some adjustments, to meet requirements under both laws,” says Dave Ziaya, HUD’s Acting Assistant Secretary for Fair Housing and Equal Opportunity.  “We believe these streamlined federal standards will help ensure the production of housing and facilities that are open and accessible to persons with disabilities.”

The notice will remain in effect until HUD formally revises its Section 504 implementing regulation.

For more information, visit www.hud.gov.

Have a comment on this article? Share on Facebook!

Join RISMedia on Twitter and Facebook to connect with us and share your thoughts on this and other topics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Copyright© 2016 RISMedia, The Leader in Real Estate Information Systems and Real Estate News. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be republished without permission from RISMedia.

Content on this website is copyrighted and may not be redistributed without express written permission from RISMedia. Access to RISMedia archives and thousands of articles like this, as well as consumer real estate videos, are available through RISMedia's REsource Licensed Content Solutions. Offering the industry’s most comprehensive and affordable content packages. Click here to learn more! http://resource.rismedia.com

Our Latest News >>